Our Essential Workers Need Housing Now

Do you have a suite or auxiliary dwelling that you can rent?

The housing crisis is having a devastating impact on our essential services. Nurses, teachers, first responders, social service providers, and civil servants are unable to find housing and are declining offers of work or moving off the Coast.

This means that our hospital and health-care centres, schools, government offices, non-profit social services, and emergency services are critically short staffed and are struggling to meet the needs of our community.

We are working to build new workforce housing, but we won’t have a substantial change in inventory for at least a couple of years.

If you have a suite or auxiliary dwelling that can be utilized for a long-term rental, please consider reaching out to these employers who will connect you directly to their staff who need housing.

 

Employer Name Services Provided Contact Name Position Contact Email Contact Phone Number
Government:
District of Sechelt Government Julia Wood Executive Assistant jwood@sechelt.ca 604-740-8465
Town of Gibsons Government Sophie Knowles Manager, HR sknowles@gibsons.ca 604-886-2274
Sunshine Coast Regional District Government Gerry Parker Senior Manager, HR gerry.parker@scrd.ca 604-885-6834
shíshálh Nation Government Jesse Waldorf Operations and Acting SIGD Manager jwaldorf@shishalh.com 604-741-4045
School District 46 – Sunshine Coast School staff including teachers Paul Bishop Director of Instruction, Human Resources hr@sd46.bc.ca 604-886-8811
RCMP Community Policing Debora Reid Human Resources debora.reid@rcmp-grc.gc.ca 604-885-2266
Vancouver Coastal Health Hospital workforce, home care programs, nursing homes, etc. Kathy Allen

Administrative Assistant

C13
kathy.allen3@vch.ca 604-885-8688
Other:
Sunshine Coast Community Services Community supports such as early childhood programs, seniors supports, family and youth supports, supports for mental health, supports for people impacted by violence, food bank, etc. Tamara Archer HR Manager

 

tarcher@sccss.ca

 

604-865-0157
Sunshine Coast Division of Family Practice Family doctor staffing Sonja Sorenson Administrative Coordinator

 

ssorensen@scdivision.ca

 

604-740-6707
Sunshine Coast Association for Community Living Support for persons with disabilities, residential facilities, independent living programs, respite programs, etc. Laurie Maguire HR Manager

 

lmagu@scacl.ca

 

604-305-2068